PS. I love you – book & movie review

The original book PS. I love you by Cecilia Ahern was published in 2004. The story is about Holly who loses her husband, Gerry, to a brain tumour. What she soon discovers is that he left her a list of things to do after his death. Every month she has to open an envelope and read the letter signed with ps. I love you. With the help of her best friends, Denise and Sharon, and her family Holly manages to find a way to live without Gerry by her side.

I loved this book! Don’t ask me how I have never picked it up before, because I haven’t got a clue. I’ve heard friends talk about the movie about a million times, but until today I had never seen that one either. Maybe I’ve always thought I wouldn’t like it. That it was just another overhyped movie. Well, I can honestly say that the book is brilliant. Cecilia Ahern, well done! A few tears escaped my eyes when reading it and some scenes were so hilarious that I was laughing out loud.

9/10

Director: Richard LaGravenese
Genre: drama, romance
Length: 126 minutes
Who’s in it: Gerard Butler, Hilary Swank, Lisa Kudrow, Harry Connick Jr…
Imdb rating: 7,0

Well, the movie was not at all what I expected. It kind of sucks. At least it does when compared to the perfect novel. First and for most, they changed almost everything! Literally. They left out a bunch of characters and changed the entire storyline except for Gerry’s death and his letters. The only thing I liked was the soundtrack by John Powell, it was beautiful. I read somewhere that this movie as seen as one of the best romantic movies ever. So I daresay I strongly disagree. And it got a 7 on IMDB. Pf. I got bored watching it.

5,8/10

Final conclusion: read the book and watch the movie if you haven’t read the book. Only then you might like it.

This entry was posted in BOOKS, MOVIES and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

