Proof (2005)

Director: John Madden
Length: 100 minutes
Genre: drama, mystery, romance
Who’s in it: Gwyneth Paltrow, Anthony Hopkins, Jake Gyllenhaal, Hope Davis…
Imdb rating: 6.8

The daughter of a brilliant but mentally disturbed mathematician, recently deceased, tries to come to grips with her possible inheritance: his insanity. Complicating matters are one of her father’s ex-students who wants to search through his papers and her estranged sister who shows up to help settle his affairs. – imdb

I bought the dvd of this movie a couple of months ago, even though I had never heard of it before. Today I decided to give it a go. The story was really interesting and Gwyneth Paltrow her acting skills really stood out (so far I’d only seen her on Glee). The movie deals with being insane and a genius at the same time. Which seems to be the case for a lot of famous mathematicians and scientists. In high school I was never really fond of math, but I envy people that are good at it. Languages are more my cup of tea. Anyway, Catherine (the main character) grieves her dead father, while spending a lot of time with his ex-student and her annoying sister.  Already she is having a hard time and they only make it worse, which makes her doubt herself. Is she going insane too?

I didn’t expect this movie to be any good, to be completely honest, but I liked it! The acting was great, the topic as well and I quite often had tears in my eyes.

7.5/10

Disclaimer: I am not at all claiming to be a professional film reviewer, I want to write down my thoughts in a way that everyone can relate.
This entry was posted in MOVIES and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

