August is over

Today is the last day of August, which means that tomorrow is the first day of September. September first is back-to-school-day in Belgium, for all the kids that are not in college/uni. I’m in college, I’m not yet going to school. Not until September 22nd.

Like I wrote yesterday, I had a great summer and with 3 more weeks of the holiday to enjoy, I can gladly say August is over. September, welcome back! I mean it when I say that I’m excited for school to start again. Sometimes a break can take too long.

I’m not sure yet what I’m going to do in these 3 long weeks, except for some days that I have planned out already. It might be safe to relax a bit more and read tons of books, like I’ve been doing since the end of June. I’ve read 15 books so far. Proud, yeah? Watching youtube video’s will have a part in this too. And watching some shows, like ANTM (yay). Currently I’m enjoying the college video’s again of my favourite youtubers. Looking forward to the dorm tours already (where you at?). It’s always fun to compare the Belgian school system with the American one. One of the things I feel like we miss here are definitely the dorms. We actually do have places that a student can rent during the school year, but it has a different tone to it. It’s not a big building attached to the school with a dining hall and tons of rooms. They are mostly run by independent owners. In Belgium we call such a room a ‘kot’. I’m not renting one, since it’s easy enough to get to school by bus and train everyday. I don’t feel like I need one, it only is an extra cost for my parents. And even though I’m quite happy with how relatively cheap studying in Belgium is, I’d still love to experience the American college-/uni-life! For now the only way of doing that is by watching other people’s video’s on youtube haha.

Oh and some books are awesome too! Like Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell! That is one of the best books I’ve read so far this year. It’s about this girl Cath and her twin sister Wren who are going to college for the first time. Cath is an introverted, shy girl and she is sharing a room with a girl she doesn’t even now and who doesn’t seem to be very nice. The story basically follows her during her first year in college. The first weeks are very hard and Cath almost never leaves her room. Not even to go to the dining hall, not kidding. It’s a REALLY awesome book, go give it a go please! Oh and she writes fanfiction. Yeah.

I think I’ve been rambling enough for now. Sometimes it feels good to let it all go (let it go!)  and just keep on writing and getting stuff off my mind.

Have a great week!

xo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August is over

  1. I have read 6 books throughout the summer and I am starting school next week (11th grade). I wish this year I will have time to read more books but time is one of my big problems.

Leave a Reply

